Secret Blog



8/29
What's up Sean's Awesome Blog fans, coming back at you with another awesome blog. Today I got to sleep in a little bit because my classes didn't start unti 9:30. I saw Remy in the main room and I asked her about vacuuming and she said her grandpa just died and she was leaving for the funeral so I just ended up vacuuming. After that whole thing I headed to my computer science lecture, where I met up with the group from last week. Me and Nevan talked about the game Omori for a little while before everyone else showed up and we talked about our weekends. I think most of us are going to be a good friend group, but this one guy (I don't even know his name) keeps sitting at our table and, I don't want to be mean, but he talks like he has never had a social interaction in his entire life. He's the guy who didn't know who Weezer and Guns and Roses were last week, and today he didn't say anything all class unless he could brag about how much he knew about coding. After class I walked back up to the dorms with Jack and then grabbed lunch at Mrs. E's where I got these really good chicken taco bowls that had mango salsa on top. I took a tupperware and an empty waterbottle in too, so I went back to the line and got hot dogs and fruit for dinner which were sooooo good, the buns they use are really soft and buttery. I also filled up my waterbottle with iced coffee, and they literally use the starbucks coffee and syrup so I got like 30 bucks worth of food for 10 dollars. Next I headed to the Union to get free bubble tea, but they were all sold out. Luckily there was a poster sale at the same time, so I got to look around that for a bit and pick out some cool posters. I didn't have enough time to buy them though so I hid them underneath the anime stuff where I was pretty sure they'd be safe. Coms was ok but I had a headache the whole time from running around in the heat. We talked about the expectations for our first speech, and I got the time slot for Tuesday even though I have it almost all the way written so I can practice it a ton over the long weekend. After that I walked back to my dorm which was pretty rough and by the time I got back I was exhausted and passed out for a whole hour and a half. I was supposed to go to the creative writing club today, but I was tired and didn't feel great so I ended up skipping it. For the rest of the day I've been working on a ton of homework I still had to do and studying for my calc test tomorrow. I love love love love love you so much, and I miss you!!!

-Sean
Stats
Miles walked: 4.3
Nap time: 1:34
Cute pic of the day

Song of the day



All This Noise
Bully
8/27 + 8/28
I missed a whole 3 days of cute blogs! Last night after I got back to Lawrence I decided to take a walk to listen to this super cute playlist this super cute girl sent me, and I ended up just wandering all the way to Mass street again, I always seem to end up there when I'm just wandering around. I was super fucking thirsty after walking that far though so I stopped in the soda shop and got a midly homophobic Faygo Watemellon Pineapple Soda which was sooo fucking good. I also got these little candies called Zots that I always used to get as a kid, they're like a jolly rancher but they have sour stuff in the middle they're so good. After I walked all the way back to the dorm, I was alone for the night because Gus closed at Slim Chickens so I had some time to work on some leftover homework that I still had to do, but I got so sleepy halfway through (I can't help it!) so I went to bed early and set an early alarm so I could do it in the morning. I got up at 6 today, which was a little rough but I had left over biscuts from breakfast yesterday and I put a ton of creamer in my coffe so that was at least nice. I did all of the english readings that I hadn't done yet and then headed out to my calc lab. That was pretty easy today, but we have a quiz on Wednesday I'm almost sure I'm going to fail. I figured out my laptop hadn't charged the whole night, so I had to run back up the hill to my dorm after calc to quickly grab my charger and then run all the way back down to English because we needed our laptops today for the in-class work. English itself was pretty nice though, I think the professor is starting to like me more (he said my answer was "very insightful"!!!). We got out a little early so I had some time to run down to Starbucks to grab coffee, but I almost wish I didn't becuase they took 45 MINUTES to make my iced coffee and they didn't even put that much cold foam on it. I had to quickly drink my coffee and run to my calc lecture, where I met up with Johnny and we talked about that rumor that was going around about me and Clayton. I still can't believe that happened and there's probably still people who believe it. My calc lab got out a little early too, so I walked back to my dorm so I could call this really cute girl for a little while (she was extra cute today). I had to hang up on her though becuase my duty as a sleepy guy was calling and I needed a nap. After my nap I woke up to an email that said I had made it into KJHK, so that was a really nice suprise! I'm so so so excited for the first staff meeting on Thursday, I can't wait to meet other music nerds (even though the cutest music nerd is back in Parkville right now :(( ) After that I worked on some homework and did my laundry before grabbing some dinner and walking to gaming club. I was a little worried because I got there late, but this guy named Apollo from my English class got there with his friend at about the same time. His friend was pretty cool, her name was Stevie so that was a little weird but she's way cooler than the other Stevie (Don't tell Stevie I said that). I'm starting to think all of those years of Catholic education made me subconciously homophobic because this flamboyantly gay man named Jack sat down next to us and I was sooo annoyed by his voice at first but after we strarted talking I found out he was pretty cool too. A few other people came in and out of our table but that was the main group. We started with coup, which was a pretty good ice breaker because it involves a lot of talking so we got to know each other pretty quick. Next we played this game that was kind of like pictionary but you had to draw a specific word and then the next person had to guess it, and then the person after them had to draw based off of the guess. Last we played this spy game that I was way too good at, I got away with being the spy by being confidently wrong about all of the questions. People were always suspicious of me but then someone else would say "I don't know he seems pretty sure of his answer". After Apollo and Stevie left I headed out too, but I had a lot of fun and I can't wait to go back next week. After that I walked back up to my dorm and started (but definitely did not finish) my calc homework before writing this little blog entry! I've been listening to the playlist you made on repeat since yesterday, it's geniunely so so good and it reminds me of my favorite cutie! I miss you so insanely much, I can't stop daydreaming about seeing you again. I love you more than anything

-Sean
Stats
Miles walked (combined): 18.20
Cool sodas drank: 1
Friends made: 3!!
Cute pic of the day

Song of the day



Big Cloud
Radiator Hospital
8/24
Introduction sentence!?!?! Today I got to sleep in a bit before I went to my first class, which was my computer science lecture. I finally got a hang of my note taking software, and I'm trying to write down as much as possible in that class even if it's all stuff that is super easy to me because I don't want to get like halfway through the semester and forget something that's really simple. We just learned about how the print() funtion works in python, and we actually went into some specifics that Mr. Ashby completely skipped over so it was nice to get a solid foundation, even if it was pretty basic. After class I talked to some of the people at my table. I started a group chat with Lily, Nevan, Jack, and Rosa and they all seem pretty cool. Lily is technically a Sophomore but this is her first year here, she did some weird community college stuff where she has an associates degree that doesn't really count for anything. I walked up the hill with them back to the dorms. Later when I was heading back down to class, I saw Lily waiting at a bus stop so I said hi and we talked for a bit. She invited me to lunch with her and Nevan, but I was already on my way to speech. It's so cool that I got invited though, I'm finally actually like making friends! When I got to speech, we talked about microagressions and not being racist or homophobic in your speech and this one wrestling guy just kept agressively rolling his eyes the entire time like he was in a sticom. After that class was done, I headed back to the dorms for a quick nap and to call the cutest person ever (she was so cute you should've seen her). Then I took the bus to the top of campus and walked down the hill to Mass street, where I had some time to walk around before the concert. I went to the record store and picked up "Louie" by Kenny Beats, which was only 20 bucks and came with this super cool poster. Then I walked around some more and looked in some really cute shops I can't wait to show you. I showed up to the concert 10 minutes late but I was like the only student there besides the bands that were setting up. It was so awkward, but once the music started it was a lot of fun! The Jack Offs were first, and even though I could not hear a word they were saying they have a really good basist and their set was a lot of fun. Next was Cat Fight, who I could hear a lot better but I still couldn't really make out anything they were saying. After their set I picked up a KJHK shirt and headed out because it literally sounded like both of my ears were underwater, but I still had a lot of fun at the concert. I had to walk all the way back becuase the busses stop at 8 except for one that takes forever, but the heat wasn't too bad and I enjoyed the walk. Once I got back to the dor, I drank a pina colada soda I had gotten on Mass street before starting work on this blog! I fell asleep in the middle of making it though so I'm finishing it in the Union right now lol. Love you so much!

-Sean
Stats
Miles walked: 8.22
Cool sodas drank: 2
Cute pic of the day

Song of the day



Shotgun
Soccer Mommy
8/23
Three days of classes down! Today was the same schedule as Monday, so I was more comfortable with my schedule. First I walked down to my calculus lab, and I got to feel super smart because I had finished the packet outside of class so I helped everyone else with their work. All of Kelly's lessons are definitely coming back to me, and I feel like calculus is going to be a fairly easy class this semester. After that, I went to the military center to grab some free coffee and I ate like 4 of the free oranges they had there. Next I had english, which was a lot better than Monday. I can't tell if the professor likes me, I was trying to participate in class but every time I said something he would just kind of nod and move on to someone else. At the end of class, he said "what's the one type of person who isn't allowed in class" and, I don't know what possessed me to do this, but I said "losers" so fucking loudly. The correct answer was "meanies", and everyone just looked at me a little wierd I felt sooo awkward. After english I got stopped by the fucking campus ministry again and they gave me some of the worst iced coffee I'd ever had. The guy is so close to learining my name I need to avoid them at all costs now. Next I had my calculus lecture, which was fairly easy again. That's where I got the good news you sent me earlier and I sighed so so loudly when I saw it, but luckily the hall was pretty empty at that point. Right after that I had my computer science seminar, which was incredibly boring. We just have to go in there and listen to nerds tell us about random stuff, there's no notes or anything. We got locked into the seats we were sitting in too, and I got stuck by some wrestling guys who I don't think I'll like. Luckily it's only once a week. After that was done I headed to the union to grab some chic fil a, which I absolutely demolished in these cool booth things they have for privacy. After I got done with dinner I walked up to the gayming club, which was kind of disappointing. I met some cool people and sat down to play Secret Hitler. It was going well at first and I was making some light conversation with the people around me, but then these two people just started talking over everyone and making it not fun for anyone but them. At one point, I had a super good plan to figure out who the fascist was, but it only worked if no one knew what I was doing. The one loud girl who was next to me shouted out the whole plan, and then when I switched what I was going to do she fucking took the card from my hand and did the wrong thing because she "knew what I was about to do". They bothered the people at my table that most of us left, myself included. I'm staying positive though, there were a lot of cool people there and I'm not going to let one bad experience discourage me from going next week. After that I walked all the way back to my dorm and took a quick nap before working on some homework and then grabbing some dinner with Gus. Only three more days until I get to see the cutest person on the whole planet, I'm so ungodly excited. Love you to the moon and back!!

-Sean
Stats
Miles walked: 5.12
Religious people avoided: 4
Religious people who I could not avoid: 2
Cute pic of the day

Song of the day



Older Than Before
Weatherday
8/21 + 8/22
First two days of classes done with! I started off Monday with some grapes which I think I left out for too long because they were kind of mushy, but it was nice to have some fresh fruit. After that I headed to my calc lab, where I got to sit next to Johnny Witherow. The precalc review was ridiculously hard, but I talked to some people after class and luckily I was not the only one who was lost. I've been working on the packet since the class though, and it's coming back to me. After the calc lab I walked all the way to the student union in the heat before relizing the military place where I had to turn in my paperwork was in the SAME BUILDING as my calc lab, so I had to walk all the way back. And then, they told me the form is online anyways so I could have done it from my dorm. After that mess I had to walk to Wescoe for English, which is so wierd. The bulding looks like some kind of wierd alien structure made of concrete, and a lot of it is outside so it gets sooo hot. Outside there was the same fucking religious people that I keep seeing, but I had to talk to them because I wanted to get a picture on this cute polaroid camera they had. Luckily it was cold in my English class so I cooled off pretty quick. We were given an assignment that was a 2 paragraph thing on what our ideal class was, and I chose video game development. I didn't work on my essay for more than about 30 minutes in between classes, but after I submitted mine I could see everyone else's and mine was by FAR the longest (not sure if that's a good sign). I have english again tomorrow, so I guess I'll see if the professor liked it. After that I walked to the calc lecture, which is absolutely huge. Luckily I found Johnny pretty quick and we talked about Pius for a bit before class started. I was relieved that the lecture moved a lot slower than the lab, and our professor is super friendly. In the middle though, he made a joke that he was blowing up the image "in honor of his Saudi Arabian wife" and someone behind me went "THAT'S gonna trigger the liberals" and I burst out laughing, like that's such a wild thing to say unironically. After that my day was pretty much over, I took a bus back to the dorms and finished my calc homework and watched tv for the rest of the day, which I definitely needed.

Today was a lot easier, I just had my computer science lecture and my public speaking class. My lecture starts at 9:30 and is pretty close, so I got to sleep in a bit. The professor is so cool, he's nerdy but in like a fun way. The people at my table were cool too, I talked to this guy named Jack who's in my hall on the 4th floor and we saw eachother later this afternoon! There was this one guy at the table who was a lot like that wierd autistic guy who sat by you in art, he was nerdy in a wierd slimy way. Also he didn't know who WEEZER or GUNS AND ROSES were like are you serious?? Not even a passing recognition of the names come on. We just went over the syllabus, and I think that class is going to be stupidly easy for me but we'll see I guess. Then I went back to the dorms to grab lunch, which was actually really good today. I got barbacoa mexican bowls and half of a grilled cheese, and it might have just been because I was hungry, but that was the best food I've eaten since I gort here. Then I took a quick nap before heading to my speech class. We just went over the syllabus in that class, but we got our first assignment which is to give a 4 minute speech on an issue that we care about. I think I'm going to do something about how religious schools should be forced to give better sex-ed (wonder why that matters to me lol), but I'm not 100% sure yet. I'm probably going to have to practice in front of you this weekend if I have it done by then. I was maybe going to go to Jui Jitsu today, but Gus has a schedule confilct and won't be able to go all semester, so I figured I'll just find another club to do on Tuesdays. I've just been hanging out in the dorms with Gus for the rest of the day, I got most of my homework done and I wrote this little blog entry! Sorry this took so long, there are people above us playing basketball in their dorm (????) so I keep getting distracted. Love you so insanely much, seeing you this weekend is going to be so ridiculously amazing. Miss you!

-Sean
Stats
Miles walked (combined): 12.43
Sweat sweated: so much
Cute pic of the day

Song of the day



Snowmen
Injury Reserve
8/20
Today was probably the slowest day so far. I got up and had my usual morning cup of coffee and wrote a review of the new AJJ albumt to submit to KJHK as proof that I can in fact write words down, and sometimes they're about music! After that I just followed up on some emails and hung out until I went to lunch with Gus, where I saw Keegan and Pierce, who I accidentally called Anthony (I think it's literally just because they're both short so I feel bad that I mix them up so often). Apparently it was brunch today, which I wish I would have known because literally everything had eggs except nachos, which were luckily pretty good. After that I headed with Ashley and Remi down to the engineering club fair, but it was sooo hot so we were drenched in sweat by the time we made it there and then we had to wait in this long ass line to check in. Luckily some of the booths were inside, and they had these huge barrels of soda in ice so we cooled off prertty quick. I saw Johnny Witherow there, which was super cool and he was very excited to find out we had the same calc lecture on Mondays and Wednesdays. I signed up for the hacking club and the general computer science clubs, but they didn't have a ton of stuff related to comp sci. I went up to the study group table and I must have looked wierd or something because the 40 year old lady there stared at me with here eyes like WIDE open and didn't really say anything to me until I asked her about the groups, and then she only gave me super short ansers and kept staring at me. She must have been on something, so wierd. After that we caught the bus back up the hill and I called the cutest person ever! After I agressively made out with these five guys who came to my dorm, I went to the floor meeting which was pretty cool, we played ping pong and talked about prepping for class tomorrow. Then I went back to the dorm and colapsed in my bed, which was for sure a mistake because I passes out for a whole hour. Now I'm just hanging out not really doing anything, so I figured I'd write a blog entry! I've been stressed out and tired all day, but I'm powering through because I know I'll get to see my favorite person ever in just a couple of days. I miss you more every day that I'm here, I am so excited to go on a cute little date with you when I get back. You should think about what you want to do, you're totally choosing this time. You've been through so much this week, you deserve it!

-Sean
Stats
Miles walked: 2.94
Cuties missed: only the cutest one (you) (don't even try to say I'm lying)
No cute pic today :(
Song of the day



Comabt
Danny Brown
8/19
Today was so much fun! First I got up and finished this cute little web page with some morning coffee (I use so many of those little single-serve creamers) and then my parents got here with the furniture, which looks really good in the main room. I still need to find out what to do with the rest of that room, it still feels pretty empty. After that we went to Zen Zero (which the two of us totally need to go to when you come here), and I got green papaya steak kind of by accident because the waiter came up really quickly and it was the first thing I saw. It was reeealy good though, the sauce was so garlicy and the perfect spice level (finally I worder something that isn't too spicy for me). Then we unlofted my bed and said goodbyes. After that, I had about an hour to relax before heading to the Give a Flock seminar, which was actually better than I thought. It wasn't just like a "don't SA people" talk, we actually talked about the process of reporting and how to intervene when you see something. The busses here are an absolute mess, none of them follow the right lines and they're never on time. Luckily today they were running extra busses specifically for this so we didn't have to wait too long, but its going to suck this week when its going to be even hotter (I had no idea you were coming to Lawrence!). After that, Gus and I talked a bunch on the bus and we decided to go to Union Fest together. That was so so so so so cool. It was a lot more crowded than I thought it would be, but I signed up for the gaming, GAYming, and tabletop gaming clubs. I also gave my info to the beekeeping club, creative writing club, jiu jitsu club, and the fishing club, which Gus is actually a member of. Next I headed back to the dorms to grab some dinner, which tonight was chicken tacos which weren't phenomenal, but they were a lot better than anything they've had this far. I also was kind of bummed to find out they didnt have a soft serve machine in the dining hall. Finally Gus and I met up at the lock-in which had a silent rave where you put on headphones and tuned into whatever DJ set you wanted to listen to, which led to some pretty funny moments like when half of the room was singing along to Taylor Swift and the other half was throwing it back to a club remix of Apple Bottom Jeans. Then Gus and I walked back a little early because we were both pretty tired, and we talked about all of the cool music we both listen to and local shows we want to go to. Apparently the basement venue The Toilet Bowl is shutting down :(((. I've been thinking about all of the cool stuff I'm going to get to show you when you come here, I am so incredibly excited! Plus, idk maybe when we hypothetically live together here there will be a lot of cool stores and restaraunts to maybe potentially go to. Love you to the moon and back

-Sean
Stats
Miles walked: 8.84
Akward interactions: too many
Friends made: 1 :)
Cute pic of the day

Song of the day



THE mARTIN SHOW
Plus-Tech Squeeze Box
8/18
First full day in college! It still feels insanely wierd, especially because I don't really have anyone to talk to yet. I'm looking forward to meeting people tommorow at union fest, and hopefully I can talk to the KJHK people about volunteering and possibly DJing??? This morning I just had a cup of coffee for breakfast and then I went on a walk to see all of my Monday classes. After I got back from that, I realized I hadn't gotten a lanyard yet and I was seriously probably going to lose my key if I didn't get one. So after a quick lunch at Ms. E's (fish and chips, it was actually a lot better than what they had the first night), I left on my second walk of the day to go to the bookstore. After that, I hung out with Gus in the dorm for most of the afternoon making this cute little page. Then Gus left for work and I decided I probably had enough time to go on another walk before dinner and traditions night, so I headed out again (spoiler alert: I did NOT have enough time). I wandered up to the top of campus and then realized I wasn't too far from downtown, so I walked down to Mass street to look at the record and book stores. There were so so so many records that I wanted to get, it's going to take such an insane amount of restraint to not spend all of my money there. I might apply for a job there at some point, actually. After that I headed back up to campus, and I accidentally wandered into the background of a gay couples wedding photos and I just froze for like 5 seconds before awkwardly speed walking up the sidewalk to get out of frame. They seemed like a cute couple though! About halfway back up to the dorm, my arms and shoulders started to hurt a lot and then I realized I was not going to be able to make it to dinner before traditions night, so I just colapsed on a bench and waited until my roommates left the dorm and then I met up with them at the stadium. Luckily, traditions night was over pretty quick and actually was pretty fun. After that, I walked back up to the dorms and talked to Remi about UFC. When I got back to my room, I demolished a bunch of my snack supply, texted the cutest person ever, and then colapsed into bed. I'm hoping to make one of these entries every day, but they probably will not all end up being this long. Love you more than anything, and I miss you so so so so so so much.

-Sean
Stats
Miles walked: 13.79
Water drank: 3 bottles
Snack eaten: Most of them
Cute pic of the day

Song of the day



Heaven or Las Vegas
Cocteau Twins